“Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes. After that who cares? He’s a mile away and you’ve got his shoes!” Billy Connolly

So today I woke up to the news that Nicola Sturgeon has officially called for a second Scottish independence referendum. I use the word officially as although many SNP MP’s have hinted at the possibility, including Nicola Sturgeon herself, using every event possible: Brexit, Trump, her bowel movements, to suggest that a second referendum is legitimate, it has not been the official party position. So is there support for a second referendum and if so do I believe it is right for one to take place?

In short I think they do have the right.

This is really hard for me to conclude however as I do not under any circumstances want Scotland to leave the UK, but as a democratically elected house, I believe that because of recent events they have the right to a choice on the matter. Of course this isn’t a set date by any means. First this matter has to be voted on in Scottish parliament, then Theresa May has to accept the proposal, which may be put forward to the House of Commons before posing the question to the Scottish people. Basically there are many reasons to suggest that a referendum won’t happen.

Nevertheless I believe that the Scottish people do deserve a second chance to say no to opportunist nationalism. I have this conviction as I also believe that to construct a political position one needs to consider both the personal impact and the view of another. If I was Scottish I know I would have voted to remain in the 2014 referendum, however if there was a second referendum, post Brexit, I believe I would vote to go independent. Whatever my personal view on the the SNP, Nicola Sturgeon and the wave of nationalism, all of which contribute to the leave campaign, I surely have to listen to my gut feeling on what I would do.

I will however give myself flexibility in saying that this opinion is contract to terms and conditions. At the moment Theresa May seems determined to go through with a hard Brexit which nobody voted for. Even if I believe there should be a second Scottish independence referendum I am sceptical on there being a second European Union referendum. Instead, in a modern political climate which seems fluid and unpredictable, why can’t we see how politics operates within the European Union until the next general election where the public could vote based on Europe as well as who they feel could lead us.

Of course this is about as likely as myself and most of the Scottish population going to a fireworks display and not getting sunburnt, but if you’re reading Mrs May……drop us a comment!

Thanks for reading this blog which I concede may be slightly ‘ranty’. To combat this please enjoy my top three jokes of this week (the author of two of them being my father).

1-I went to buy a Christmas tree, and the guy asked ‘Are you going to put it up yourself?’ I said, ‘No, I was thinking the living room.’

2-Apparently I snore so loudly that it scares everyone in the car I’m driving.

3-Relationships are a lot like algebra. Have you ever looked at your X and wondered Y?

 

Leave a comment